Reykjavík, Iceland


Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
December 25, 2022 - December 10, 2023 2 weeks

December/January. Also open to other dates.


House by the sea

We live in the west end of Reykjavík by the sea, only about 15 minutes walk from the central. This is a quiet and grown area and pretty much like a little village. Our house is spacious (200 m2) with four bedrooms and a large and bright living room with a grand piano. There you can find our big TV with several stations to watch, as well as Netflix. 

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 4 Children
  • 2 Exchanges made


  • Musicians
  • Musicians

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 1
  • Environment: By the sea
  • Bedrooms: 5
  • Bathrooms: 2
  • Sleeping Capacity: 5
  • Total Area: 200 m2


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Home exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Hot tub or jacuzzi
  • Central heating
  • Baby equipment
  • Toys and games
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television
  • Piano
  • Guitar


  • Garden
  • Terrace or deck
  • BBQ
  • Bicycles: 3


  • No smoking
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Pet care wanted

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Portugal
  • Scotland, UK
  • Ireland
  • Denmark
  • Canada
  • United States
  • England, UK
  • France
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Croatia
  • Sweden
  • Slovenia
  • Germany
  • Hungary
  • Bulgaria

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood

This part of Reykjavik (Vesturbærinn) is grown and respectable. Apartments are expensive and it's easy to understand why people get so attached to this part of the capital.  It's like a village of its own, still only 15 minutes walk from the city center.  You could say everything is pretty close to our house. Grocery store, bakery, hair saloon, church, swimming pool (the best one), football ground, playgrounds, coast, book store; all within 15 minutes walking. 


  • Musicians
  • Musicians


  • Boy - Age: 2
  • Girl - Age: 8
  • Boy - Age: 17
  • Boy - Age: 14


  • Cat

About Our Family

We are Jón (59) and Hildur Vala (40) and have 4 children: Three boys: Jökull (16), Kári Kolbeinn (13), Arnaldur (1) and a girl Þórhildur (7). We are both musicians so at our apartment you can find several instruments, one being a piano. We have a wonderful cat, Rósa, who likes attention and is sweet to everybody.



We are non smokers and like traveling. We have been to various countries around the world. 


This member has completed 2 home exchanges. Those referenced below may contain feedback/impression from its exchange partners: