Hereford, Great Britain

Ready to go

Member since


Open for exchange
Exchange dates Duration
June 08, 2024 - September 01, 2025 1 weeks

We are open to possibilities so do get in touch! Let us know what you have either for two people or five.

August 09, 2024 - August 18, 2024 1 weeks

We’ve arranged one longer summer 2024 exchange now but have a gap from 9-18th August if anyone wanted to consider a swap during that period, a few days or a week. Europe or Scandinavia.


Mountainside stone house on the border of England and Wales, near the book town of Hay-on-Wye

We have a three-bedroom stone house which is completely private, fenced in nine acres of land with old oak trees and streams, set on the side of the mountain. Amazing views. Fantastic hiking and cycling from the door. The mountain ridge is the Offa’s Dyke Path (the ancient path that divides England and Wales).

The house is full of character, with two fireplaces, big picture windows which encompass the views, and plenty of space. Bring your children and let them roam freely! There is an outdoor barbecue and firepit.

The area is known for the outdoor activities on offer; horse riding in the mountains, canoeing and wild swimming in the River Wye, plenty of activity centres for fun stuff like archery, high ropes courses, Go Ape, paint balling, quad biking. The road cycling and mountain biking is amazing, either on your own planned trips from the house or at a bike park nearby. You can hike the hills to wonderful country pubs for lunch and local cider, without seeing anyone else except sheep and wild ponies!

The nearest towns are Abergavenny and Hay-on-Wye, both lovely market towns to explore with a castle each, lots of good independent shops and cafes, and also nearby is our village with a good pub, a fantastic local shop for provisions and a castle.

We can give you recommendations where to eat, where to hire horses, bikes and canoes, and where to walk and wild swim - there are loads of maps and guides in the house but we can give you google map pins etc.

Three hours drive from London, 1.5 hours from Bristol, one hour to Cardiff.

We are lucky to have this as a second home, which is used as a family retreat or occasionally as an Airbnb, so our exchanges can be non-simultaneous. We have done exchanges before (not through Intervac) and the house is set up to be an Airbnb where we are Superhosts.

Translate this
Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 3 Children
  • 0 Exchanges made


  • Bookshop Owner
  • Data Analyst

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Environment: In the mountains
  • Bedrooms: 3
  • Bathrooms: 1
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6

In my house

  • Pets - Allowed
  • Small children - Allowed

Exchange Types

  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Youth / Teen exchange


  • Free internet access
  • Fireplace
  • Toys and games


  • Garden
  • BBQ


  • Non-smoking house
  • Car necessary
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open to any destination
  • Italy
  • Spain
  • Netherlands
  • Morocco
  • France
  • Portugal
  • Greece
  • Norway
  • Finland
  • Denmark
  • Sweden

Spoken Languages

  • English

Our Neighbourhood


  • Bookshop Owner
  • Data Analyst


  • Girl - Age: 12
  • Boy - Age: 14
  • Boy - Age: 16


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

It may be just my partner Dan and me travelling, or the three kids too (16, 14, and 12) depending on where we go. We live in Herefordshire, about half an hour away from the house shown here, with dogs, cats, chickens and horses, and we’re very happy to care for your animals too if that helps you. I have a shop and cafe in Hay-on-Wye, and Dan works from home in a data role.

Translate this