Glen Ellen, USA

house in the vineyard

house in the vineyard

house in the vineyard

Member since


Unavailable for exchange at the moment

The member has not specified any exchange dates

Vineyard House near Sonoma, California

 Our home is located in the Sonoma Valley wine country.  It sits on the Jack London Ranch. My family has lived on this land for 5 generations. There are 200 acres of vineyard surrounded by the Jack London State Park. Around the house are 2 acres of garden.  It is light, open and spacious. There are miles of trails for walking, hiking, biking and even horses to rent. 2 miles down the road is the tiny village of Glen Ellen.  It has a few good restaurants, a fabulous upscale grocery store, an art gallery, and a few fun shops.  The cute town of Sonoma is about 10 miles away.  It boasts many fine restaurants, shops, wineries, historic sites, and has a adorable town square. The town of Santa Rosa, with 150,000 people, is 15 miles away. Napa is about 40 minutes away.  We have easy access to the coast, Marin, and San Francisco. Lake Tahoe, Santa Cruz, and Yosemite are a few hours drive away.

     My husband and I are retired high school teachers.  One of our sons  lives in Denmark with his family and our other son's in- laws are Irish.  We hope to visit all our family in Europe and see some other sites as well. 

Read more

Our Family

  • 2 Adults
  • 0 Children
  • 4 Exchanges made


  • retired teacher
  • retired teacher

Our Home

  • House Type: House
  • Floor: 2
  • Environment: In the country
  • Bedrooms: 4
  • Bathrooms: 3
  • Sleeping Capacity: 6


In my house

  • Pets - Not allowed
  • Small children - Not allowed

Exchange Types

  • Long-term exchange wanted
  • Non-simultaneous exchange
  • Home exchange
  • Hospitality exchange
  • Renting possible


  • Free internet access
  • Air conditioning
  • Central heating
  • Fireplace
  • Washing machine
  • Dishwasher
  • Clothes dryer
  • Television


  • Garden
  • Balcony
  • Park / playground


  • No smoking
  • Car necessary
  • Use/Exchange of car
  • Seclusion/Privacy

Our Destination Wish List

  • Open for all offers
  • Denmark
  • France
  • Italy
  • Germany
  • United Kingdom
  • Spain

Spoken Languages

  • English


  • retired teacher
  • retired teacher


  • We do not have children.


  • We do not have pets.

About Our Family

We have 3 grown children. Our daughter lives in Burbank California, our older son lives in San Francisco, and our youngest son lives in Denmark.


This member has completed 4 successful exchanges. Here are some members that he exchanged with in the past: